The Benefits Of Talking To Yourself

It was once believed that talking to yourself is a sign of madness – but not anymore! Talking to yourself may feel strange at first but, it can actually help improve your English. Because this is a method you may not feel comfortable with at first, you probably feel overwhelmed right now. But don’t worry! This method is a lot more fun than you may think.

When You Should Try This Method:

Really, you can try this method whenever you want. Although, it’s probably something you’d want to do in the privacy of your own home. You can talk to yourself when you’re cooking a meal, putting on makeup, doing your hair, showering, cleaning your house, getting dressed, maybe even driving to work – anytime! 

red-woman-girl-brown-large

What You Should Talk About:

You can really talk about anything you want with this method – which can be a lot of fun! If you’re doing an activity you can explain what you’re doing, how you’re doing it, when you’re doing it, and what materials you need. For example, if you were cooking dinner you might say: I’m cooking dinner for my family tonight. I’m taking the knife, and chopping up the vegetables on the cutting board. Then, I’m putting the vegetables in the boiling water. To cook dinner tonight I need a cutting board, a couple knives, vegetables, potatoes, chicken, spices, oil, a pan, a pot, and a tray. You could also pretend you’re explaining how to do this activity to somebody else. Another thing you can talk about is your personal life – what your plans are for the day or week, any exciting activities or vacations planned, your feelings/opinions on a certain subject, or perhaps your own problems. Talking your problems out can even be therapeutic!

food-vegetables-meal-kitchen-large

Why This Method Works:

This method is great to identify areas of weakness. For example, if you’re explaining to yourself how to do your makeup, and your struggling to find the right words, you then know you need to work on improving your vocabulary. If you’re talking to yourself about your upcoming vacation plans, and you’re boring yourself, you then know you may have to work on enthusiasm and intonation (if you’re an advanced English student). It’s also a great way to practice your pronunciation. The more you say a word, the more natural it will begin to sound. Ultimately, you’ll feel more comfortable using the English language. Hopefully, this will translate over to speaking practice with another person.

Another great benefit of practicing English with yourself is that you don’t have the added pressure of practicing in front of other people. Sometimes having conversations with another English speaker can be daunting. But when you talk to yourself, you don’t have the added stress, and you will be more confident! And in time, you will see – and hear – your own improvement. Have fun with this method!

11 thoughts on “The Benefits Of Talking To Yourself

  1. 100% in agreement. No matter how much or how often you listen to tapes and stuff, the ultimate challenge is to train you mouth and you vocal cords to produce sounds that communicate ideas and thoughts and feelings. Students should try repeating, for example, the teachers response to one of the students: “Couldn’t have said it better myself!”. Try it until you say it in 2 secs. Any help?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the post! All very true!
    When I was learning English as a teenager I used to write my personal journal in English (partly to make sure my parents didn’t understand anything if they stumbled upon it). Looking back I now think it was one of the most productive exercises I did. Both talking to oneself and journaling are about describing the routines and thoughts of one’s life without the pressure of having an audience. These activities ensure that you engage actively with the language that is relevant for you and the personalisation makes it memorable.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Encouraging Life and commented:
    I always talk to myself too all the time. Glad that I found the article to explain that I am not crazy. By talking to myself I can predict any of the situations ahead, it’s like discussing with lots of people who have meeting on your brain.

    It’s not a strange thing to me anymore and only I am the one who know that I talk to myself….wait…errr..now everybody knows!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for your compliment 🙂
        Actually I am thinking and talking to myself at the same time. So no talking to myself means that I am not thinking at all. So it’s like one package to me.

        Like

Let me know what you think!

