Dynamic Vs. Stative Verbs

Dynamic and stative are words that we don’t use very often, so when they’re connected to verbs, people often get confused. But it’s not as complicated as you may think!

First, let’s take a look at the words dynamic and stative. 

Dynamic is an adjective which means there is continuous change or activity. So in English grammar, we used ‘dynamic verbs’ to describe an action. You may wonder why you’ve never heard of dynamic verbs before, but that’s simply because they’re more commonly known as ‘action verbs’.

Stative describes a state or condition rather than an activity. Stative is a very uncommon adjective, which is why using it to describe a verb can really confuse people. So in English grammar, we use ‘stative verbs’ to describe a state or condition.

Dynamic Verbs:

Now let’s take a look at some examples of dynamic verbs, and how to use them in sentences. There are hundreds of dynamic verbs, so I can’t include all of them here. But for a more substantial list, click here.

verbsDynamic Verb Sentence Examples:

  1. “My legs are sore because I’ve been running every morning.”
  2. “I can’t stay late, I’m eating dinner with my parents.”
  3. “I’m growing tomato plants in my garden.”
  4. “I need to study for my exam tomorrow.”

Stative Verbs

Let’s take a look at some examples of stative verbs and how to use them in sentences. Once again, this is only a small list of stative verbs. For a more complete list, click here.

stative-verbs-in-english.png

 

Stative Verb Sentence Examples:

  1. “My mom didn’t agree with me.”
  2. “I imagine you must be very sleepy.”
  3. “I promise to take you to Niagara Falls tomorrow.”
  4. “She didn’t remember my name.”

Now just to confuse you, there are words that can be both dynamic and stative depending on the context of the word. Here are a few examples:

  • sound
  • smell
  • have
  • think

For example, you could say, “I have an uncle who lives in England.” This would be an example of a stative verb because the sentence is describing familial relations.

You could say, “I’m thinking about getting a puppy.” This would be an example of a dynamic verb because, in this context, thinking is describing an action – it is currently happening.

Although this information may seem overwhelming or confusing at first, it can really help improve your grammar. Keep up your hard work! If you have any questions, feel free to comment below!

2 thoughts on “Dynamic Vs. Stative Verbs

Let me know what you think!

