Changing Your Mindset

When we’re learning, we have two options: to have a fixed mindset or a growth mindset. A fixed mindset is when we let failure define who we are. A growth mindset is when we see setbacks as an opportunity to grow or improve. We can always choose how we react to setbacks, but it’s never too late to change. What’s your view?

Taking an honest look at the chart below will help us determine what kind of mindset we really have, and how we can change it for the better.

Fixed Mindset

Growth Mindset

Do you say…

Will I look dumb if I fail? Will I succeed?

OR

Will I overcome challenges?

Will this help me to grow?

Do you say…

I’m a failure.

I’m so stupid.

OR

I’ll try harder next time!

Do you say…

I don’t want to look stupid, so I’ll avoid trying new things… OR

I want to try this! I might learn something new!

Do you say…

Why bother trying? It won’t make a difference. OR

Growing takes effort, and it won’t happen overnight.

Do you say…

I’m getting criticism? They don’t know what they’re talking about! OR

How can I improve? I’ll take in criticism seriously.

Do you say…

I can’t believe they’re successful… I should be more successful than them. OR

I really admire their success! I wonder what qualities or attributes I can imitate.

Do you say… I’m okay where I am. OR

I want to achieve more!

Let me know what you think!

